How long did the disconnection suspension last?

The suspension on disconnections in March 2020 was a temporary measure to provide short-term relief for customers. As part of our return to standard business operations, service disconnections for past due customer accounts resumed in September. Customer bills include past due amounts, the payment amount needed to avoid disconnection and a possible disconnection date.

Did customers have to pay for electric service used during the emergency?

Yes, customers were still responsible for all billed electricity. Our representatives are always available to discuss payment options. Please contact us. We will work with you to set up payment arrangements and make appropriate accommodations.

What happened when the suspension expired in September?

If you made and kept up with payment arrangements, you were considered to be “in good standing.” If you did not make, or did not keep current, with payment arrangements and were subject to disconnection prior to the suspension, you were subject to disconnection after the suspension lifted in September. Our goal was to have no customer disconnected, and we remain available to you to set up payment plan.

What payment options are available to customers?

For residential, commercial and industrial customers dealing with financial hardships, AEP Ohio offers payment plans. In order to qualify for payment arrangements, customers must pay a portion of their unpaid balance, and the remaining balance will be added to future bills.

How is AEP Ohio protecting its employees?

We have taken significant steps to keep our employees healthy and ensure we can still serve our customers. Our line workers and other employees critical to maintaining service are working in smaller teams, adjusting work schedules, practicing social distancing, monitoring themselves for any symptoms and taking other prevention measures recommended by the CDC. All employees who can are working from home to help prevent the spread of the virus.

How are AEP Ohio’s employees handling in-person interactions?

The health and safety of our customers, crews and communities are our top priorities. As part of our efforts to reduce the spread of COVID-19, we have limited face-to-face meetings with customers. Our line and tree crews have resumed knocking on customers’ doors if we need to get in touch while completing work. Rest assured, we’ll continue to follow appropriate safety guidelines. We ask customers to continue to keep physical distance for your safety and ours.

Is AEP Ohio prepared for this ongoing crisis?

AEP understands the critical nature of the services we provide and is committed to the health and safety of our customers, communities and employees. We prepare for all types of emergencies, but have updated our plans for the COVID-19 pandemic. We are closely monitoring the situation and don’t anticipate COVID-19 will disrupt our ability to provide electric service for our customers.

21 responses to “COVID-19: FAQs

  1. I posted a payment on 3/28 that is pending because I thought my service would be disconnected. Now I realize that it won’t be yet, but I can’t seem to cancel the payment. My wife is not working currently because she is a non essential employee and we really can’t afford this until I get my next paycheck on 4/10.

  2. Keep up the good work!! It makes me feel more secure to know that AEP is on top of this pandemic! And I hope that all AEP workers stay healthy and secure as well. Thank you all!

    1. Hi Denise. I am not sure what happened here but we are more than happy to take a look and help. Please give us a call at (800) 672-2231 or contact us on Facebook or Twitter.

    1. Hey Jaquan. If you have questions about the PIPP plan you should call (855) 654-7477 or go to AEPOhio.com/account/bills/assistance. You can also call us at (800) 672-2231.

    1. Hi Brian. Have you logged into your account online to make sure your personal info is up to date? If so then please give us a call right away at 800-672-2231. Thanks for writing.

    1. Hi Jeffrey. It’s a good question but unfortunately we don’t have an answer just yet. Because of the changing nature of the pandemic we don’t know when disconnections will resume but hope to have a timeline shortly. Thank you for checking in.

  3. How do I update the size of my home?
    I just finished my home remodeling and increased the size of my home from 1,540 to 1,960 sqft.

    1. Hello Ely! Thanks for asking. Updating your square footage will help us deliver you more accurate energy reports. Go to:
      http://www.aepohio.com/homeenergyreports
      On the first screen that comes up you have two options:
      1. Scroll to the bottom and click the link “your home” in the annual breakdown box – then update your responses from there.
      2. Or, select “Ways to Save” / “Home Energy Analysis”. Once you’re on that screen, you can select the link “information you provided about your home” to update your question.
      If you haven’t answered all of the questions yet, you can just follow step one and there will be a call to action button asking you to update your home information.
      Hope this information helps. We’re glad you’re taking advantage of the energy reports!

  4. Try to reinstall aep it your power app and it’s say that my phone is not compatible and I’ve had this app on my phone before but I uninstalled it and was trying to reinstall it but now it won’t do it

    1. Hi Shakara. If you anticipate having any trouble paying your bill, we ask that you please call us right away at 800-672-2231. Thanks.

    1. Thanks for your message, Prem. Give us a call at 800-672-2231 and we can take a closer look at your account. You may also want to check out this info about how to save money on your electric bill: aepohio.com/save/residential/learn/LowNoCostTips.aspx

  5. Is your app down been trying to pay the electric bill over the app and it keeps saying sorry app don’t working at the moment and if so how long til its back up and running

    1. Thanks for writing, Norma. Yes, we are aware of issues with making payments via the app. Our support team is currently working on a fix. Sorry for any inconvenience this may be causing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *